• by Travis Hendryx •

Sul Ross State University Women’s Basketball represented the American Southwest Conference West Division as the recipient 2018-19 Winter Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Team Sportsmanship Award the conference office announced Tuesday, March 12.

UT Dallas was selected as the East Division honoree.

Men’s basketball award winners were LeTourneau in the East Division and Howard Payne in the West Division.

The SAAC Team Sportsmanship Award honors the member institution in each ASC championship sport that best displays positive qualities of sportsmanship and fair play from its student-athletes, coaches and fans throughout the season.

The 2018-19 year marks the 12th season the award has been presented by vote of the campus Student-Athlete Advisory Committees of the American Southwest Conference.

Sul Ross claimed is seventh SAAC Team Sportsmanship Award in women’s basketball this season, the most by any school in any one sport. The Lady Lobos have also won the award in 2010, ’13, ’14, ’15, ’16 and ’17.

The next SAAC Team Sportsmanship Awards will be named after the 2019 spring seasons.