• by Steve Lang •

Eight innovation grants were awarded to Sul Ross State University faculty and staff members during a Friday, May 3 reception.

The grants, awarded by the Office of Institutional Effectiveness, recognized enhancements for programs to promote institutional quality, effectiveness and benefits for Sul Ross students.

All faculty and staff who coordinate academic or administrative programs were eligible to submit proposals. Four of the academic programs were submitted jointly by faculty from the Alpine, Eagle Pass, Del Rio, and Uvalde campuses.

“All of the grant proposals reflect the creativity of participating faculty and staff to provide a positive impact on students,” said Dr. Jeanne Qvarnstrom, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness.

Grant recipients were: Betsy Evans, Education and Outreach, Library; Dr. Ana Acevedo, Ilda Gonzalez and Dr. Filemon Zamora, B.A. Spanish; Dr. Barbara Tucker, Education; Dr. Jennifer Miller and Dr. Gina Stocks, M.Ed. Reading Specialist; Dr. Kathy Stein, Development Education (Academic Center for Excellence); Dr. Laura Payne and Dr. Sally Roche, B.A. English; Dr. Ryan Luna, Wildlife Management; and Dr. Wesley Wynne and Dr. Alicia Trotman, B.A. Psychology.