• by Steve Lang •

Sul Ross State University faculty and staff who have attained 20, 25 and 30 years of service and five to 10 years of accident-free work will be recognized at a reception Thursday, May 9, 11:30 a.m. in the Pete P. Gallego Center.

In addition, four recent recipients of the Bar-SR-Bar Award for Employee Excellence will be honored, along with eight retiring employees. Rio Grande College (RGC) employees will be feted by the Associate Provost’s Office at a later date.

Longevity awards are as follows:

30 years: Robert Kinucan, Associate Provost of Graduate Studies and Research, Office of Sponsored Programs; Oscar Jimenez, Senior Manager, Accounting Services

25 Years: Francine Richter, Associate Professor of Languages and Literature, Languages and Literature; Tim Wilson, Professor of Education, Education; Loretta Garcia, Senior Business Advisor, Small Business Development Center; William Green, Professor and Chair, Business Administration

20 Years: Dona Roman, Professor of Theatre, Fine Arts and Communication; Julie Vega, Lecturer of English, Academic Center for Excellence; Jessie Lara, Assistant Director, Physical Plant

Safety award recipients are as follows:

Five Years: Loretta Armistead, Admin Specialist, RGC Education; Stephanie Bohanna, Program Support Specialist, Talent Search Trio; Roger Boren, Archaeologist II, Center for Big Bend Studies; Sylvia Fields, Accounting Assistant, Accounting Services; Mayra Garza, Program Support Specialist, RGC Small Business Development Center; Michael J. Jaquez, Receiving & Supply Assistant, Physical Plant; Judith Loya, Director of Student Support Services, Student Support Services; Lizette Nava, Buyer, Purchasing; Kara O’Shaughnessy, Director of Advancement, Development and Alumni Relations; Rockland Owens, Project Assessment Manager, Gear Up Grant; Candes Ramon, Campus Activities Coordinator, University Center; Danielle McAfee, Collections Supervisor, Accounting Services; Robert Skillern, Custodial Worker, Physical Plant; Maria White, Administrative Specialist, DOE Postbaccalaureate; Jared Williams, Vehicle Maintenance Worker, Physical Plant

10 Years: Steve Conant, Communication Electrical Technician, Information Technology; Alfredo Armendariz, Custodial Worker, Physical Plant; Alicia Bustos, Registrar Assistant, Records and Registration; Celia Cano, Custodial Worker, Physical Plant

Sul Ross retirees are: Concepcion Esparza, Administration  Specialist, RGC Dean’s Office (retired Oct. 31, 2018, 6 years of service); Susan Chisholm, Administration Coordinator, Center for Big Bend Studies (retired Dec. 31, 2018, 10 years); Maria Miranda, Library Assistant  (Retired Dec. 31, 2018, 22 years); Paul Spitzer, Plumber, Physical Plant (retired Jan. 31, 15 years); Karen Stubblefield, Admissions and Recruiting (retired Jan. 31, 14 years); Dr. Martin K. Terry, Professor of Biology, Biology, Geology and Physical Science (retired Jan. 31, 14 years); Alicia Bustos, Registrar Assistant, University Registrar, Alpine Campus (retired Feb. 28, 14 years); Debbie Galvan, UDPS Coordinator, University Department of Public Safety (to retire May 31, 21 years).

Recipients of the Bar-SR-Bar Award for Employee Excellence will be announced at the ceremony.