Teachers from Alpine, Fort Davis, Marathon and Marfa Independent School Districts were feted at a Thursday (May 9) reception celebrating National Teacher Appreciation Week. The reception, hosted by the Sul Ross State University Education Department, included a welcome by Dr. Bill Kibler, Sul Ross President, refreshments and a panel discussion about character education programs in the respective districts. Panel members (from left) were: Dr. Jeanne Qvarnstrom, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Assistant Professor of Education, panel moderator; Crystal Amara, Marfa ISD; Kelly Springfield, Marathon ISD; Shera Welch, Fort Davis ISD; and Zachary Wilkerson, Alpine ISD. Qvarnstrom, who organized the event, said the reception is intended recognize the tremendous contributions of teachers in the communities and the importance of the partnerships among local school districts and the university. (Photo by Steve Lang)